Law Politics

President Donald Trump of the United States of America has placed a travel ban on six new countries including Africa’s economic giants; Nigeria. Others affected by this ban are Eritrea, Myanmar, Kyrgyzstan, Tanzania, and Sudan.

Even though the ban hits different for the various countries, their citizens will have a hard time getting into American soil. Countries like Tanzania and Sudan were banned from applying for the green card lottery, while the others including Nigeria were banned from certain Visa Type excluding School, Business and Tourism.

Nationals of the six countries already in the US or those with a valid visa to come to the US will not be affected.

The Trump Administration has cited the growing insecurity and terrorism in Nigeria and the lack of a viable identity management database for her citizens as the major reasons for the ban.

Nigerians are shocked by the ban after finding out that their nation was placed on the same scale as Pariah nations such as Myanmar and Eritrea.

Many persons have taken to social media to express their displeasure at the news and others are insisting that the move is a welcome development for Nigeria as her citizens will stay in and develop their nation.

The Nigerian government has issued a statement in response to the situation saying they will work with the “US Government, INTERPOL and other stakeholders to ensure all new updates are properly implemented,” President Buhari’s spokesman Femi Adesina said in a statement released to the media.

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Grace Esohe

A Musical Artist, Saxophonist, Blogger, Web Developer, and Mum with a desire to share knowledge, information and experience while making a difference in the World.


Leave a Reply

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments